Nevada Car Insurance Cost and Requirements
Get answers to your questions about the average cost of car insurance in Nevada.
It can be fun to take risks in Las Vegas or Reno—but it’s an awful idea to gamble with your car insurance in Nevada.
Buying car insurance in Nevada is essential for protecting your vehicle—and yourself—in case of any mishaps on the road. As you shop for auto insurance, take into consideration Nevada’s insurance laws, minimum coverage requirements, and average rates, and be sure to compare quotes before choosing an insurance provider.
Here’s what you need to know about the type of coverage you’ll need in the Silver State, how much it costs, and more.
What are the car insurance laws in Nevada?
Nevada state law requires that every driver carries auto liability insurance. If you’re caught driving without car insurance, your registration could be suspended and you could face a fine ranging from $250 to $1,750—depending on how long your coverage has lapsed—and how many times you’ve been caught driving without coverage.
And if you cause an accident while driving without coverage, the other driver can sue you for damages. If that happens, you could end up paying hundreds of dollars or, if someone is severely hurt, upwards of $100,000* yourself.
What are Nevada’s minimum car insurance requirements?
In Nevada, driving without car insurance is illegal. Drivers must carry the following minimum auto insurance coverage:
- Bodily injury liability coverage at $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Property damage liability coverage worth $20,000, in case you hit someone else’s car or property.
Keep in mind, these are just the minimum requirements in Nevada, and you can always choose to increase your coverage amounts or include optional, additional coverage. Nevada drivers aren’t required to have medical payments coverage (MedPay), for example. But if someone hits your vehicle and takes off from the scene and you don’t have this type of coverage, you may get stuck paying for medical bills out of your own pocket.
What are average Nevada car insurance rates?
Auto insurance rates vary based on several factors, like whether you live in the city or countryside, the type of vehicle you drive, the type of policy you choose, and your driving record. On average, car insurance in Nevada costs around $140 per month or about $1,675 per year. But your auto insurance quote will be custom-tailored to you.
Is there a new-car insurance grace period in Nevada?
Not even a little bit. If you let your coverage lapse for just one day, you could face suspension of your vehicle registration plus a minimum $251 reinstatement fee. And if you’re financing your car, keep in mind that your lender may require that you carry more coverage than the state minimum.
Does Nevada have a teen driver program?
Like many other states, Nevada uses a graduated licensing system where teen drivers at least 15½ years old can get a learner’s permit, and drivers at least 16 years old can apply for a license. All new drivers under 18 must complete an online or in-class training course and complete 50 hours of driving. Within the first six months of receiving their license, teen drivers are not allowed to drive passengers under the age of 18 (with the exception of immediate family), and are prohibited from driving from 10 p.m. to 5 a.m. Young drivers also must adhere to local curfews, particularly in Las Vegas and Reno’s gaming district.
Driving statistics in Nevada
Whether you’re rolling down the glitzy Las Vegas Strip or exploring wide-open dirt roads through low desert terrain, driving in Nevada is an experience ripe for adventure.
While you’re probably a top-notch driver, Nevada as a whole ranked second for the worst drivers in the country in 2021, according to SmartAsset’s annual driving study. Nevada also ranks high in DUI arrests (no. 8 in the nation) and Nevada drivers were also 2.23 times more likely to Google “speeding ticket” or “traffic ticket” than “gasoline.”
AAA Car Insurance discounts for Nevada residents
In addition to the AAA discounts available to all drivers, Nevada residents can save with these Auto Insurance discounts:
- 5% discount for defensive drivers.
- 1% discount for AARP members.
Find an agent who knows Nevada auto insurance
Nevada insurance agents are available to help you with your car insurance needs. Find AAA near me.
*Figure based on an average.
**Average savings from September 2021 survey of customers who switched to AAA Insurance within the past year and reported saving money.