Utah Car Insurance Minimums and Rates
Everything you need to know about Utah's car insurance laws.
Driving gives you the ultimate freedom to explore Utah’s wonders, whether you’re headed to the majestic Zion National Park, the iconic Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park, or a gorgeous ski country playground like Park City. Wherever you decide to drive in Utah, it’s important to have your car’s paperwork in order.
Buying car insurance in Utah is essential for protecting your vehicle—and yourself—in case of any mishaps on the road. As you shop for auto insurance, take into consideration Utah’s insurance laws, minimum coverage requirements, and average rates, and be sure to compare quotes before choosing an insurance provider.
Here are some guidelines for staying safe (and legal) while driving in Utah.
What are the car insurance laws in Utah?
Utah state law requires that every driver carries auto liability insurance. If you’re caught driving without car insurance, you’ll face a fine of $400 for the first offense and $1,000 for any offense within three years of the first one. If you’re convicted of driving without coverage, your driver’s license will be suspended until you provide proof of insurance (and pay a reinstatement fee).
What are Utah’s minimum car insurance requirements?
In Utah, driving unprotected is illegal. Drivers must carry the following minimum car insurance coverage:
- Bodily injury liability coverage at $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident.
- Property damage liability coverage worth $15,000, in case you hit someone else’s car or property.
- Personal injury protection coverage, also called no-fault insurance, of $3,000, to help offset medical expenses incurred by you and your passengers.
Keep in mind, these are just the minimum requirements in Utah, and you can always choose to increase your coverage amounts or include optional, additional coverage.
Utah doesn’t require collision coverage, for example. But if you have an auto loan or lease your car, you might be required to get it.
What are Utah's average car insurance rates?
Auto insurance rates vary based on several factors, like whether you live in the city or countryside, the type of vehicle you drive, the type of policy you choose, and your driving record. On average, car insurance in Utah costs around $100 per month or about $1,200 per year. But your auto insurance quote will be custom-tailored to you.
Is there a new car insurance grace period in Utah?
In Utah, you need to be covered before driving a car. If you have auto coverage for an existing vehicle, your insurance company may extend your plan to your new vehicle as well, but check with your agent.
New to Utah vehicle registration
If you just moved to Utah, you have 60 days to transfer your vehicle title and registration. To complete this, visit the nearest Utah DMV to complete an application for your new Utah title. Bring with you your current out-of-state vehicle registration, vehicle identification number (VIN), a completed certificate of inspection, proof of passing a safety and/or emissions test (if applicable), and a form of payment for registration fees.
Utah driving statistics
With roads that wind past craggy limestone cliffs, through national forests, and to top ski resorts, Utah was made for road trips. And you can happily explore with relative peace of mind, as Utah drivers are among the safest in the country.
Utahns are the second-best drivers in the U.S. (only bested by drivers in Massachusetts) according to a study by SmartAsset.
But accidents still happen—there were more than 52,000 crashes in Utah in 2020—so it’s important to make sure you have coverage.
AAA Car Insurance discounts for Utah residents
In Utah, you might qualify for some sweet discounts on auto insurance. Your AAA insurance agent can help you navigate options to find exceptional coverage while saving you money. (Did you know that Utah drivers who switch to AAA Auto Insurance save an average of $375.56 a year?*)
In addition to the AAA insurance discounts available to all drivers, Utah residents can save with these Auto Insurance discounts:
- Up to 30% discount for SMARTtrek users (based on program results).
- Up to 5% auto insurance loyalty discount.
- 7.5% discount when you insure multiple cars on your policy.
- Up to 24% discount for teen drivers who complete the AAA teenSMART program.
- Up to 14.5% good student discount for high school or full-time college students with a verifiable GPA of 3.0 or higher.
- Up to 30% distant student discount for drivers who are college students living more than 100 miles away from home.
- 5% discount for defensive drivers.
Chat with an insurance agent to learn how you can maximize your savings on auto insurance. And remember, speak to your agent any time you have a change in your life. Whether you move or get a new car, your agent is happy to crunch the numbers and save you money.
Find an agent who knows Utah auto insurance
AAA insurance agents are ready to help by phone or in-person. See AAA Utah locations.
*Average savings from September 2021 survey of customers who switched to AAA Insurance within the past year and reported saving money.