From Yellowstone National Park to the Grand Tetons National Park to your favorite local brewpub, Wyoming has loads to offer. But before you jump behind the wheel and take off exploring, make sure you know the state’s rules and regulations when it comes to auto insurance in Wyoming.
Buying car insurance in Wyoming is essential for protecting your vehicle—and yourself—in case of any mishaps on the road. As you shop for auto insurance, take into consideration Wyoming’s insurance laws, minimum coverage requirements, and average rates, and be sure to compare quotes before choosing an insurance provider.
Here’s what you need to know before hitting the road in Wyoming.
What are Wyoming’s auto insurance laws?
Wyoming drivers must have auto liability insurance at all times. If you’re caught without coverage, you could face a fine between $500 and $1,500—and even prison time. If you’re caught a second time, your registration and license plates could be revoked.
And if you cause an accident while driving without coverage, the other driver can sue you for damages. You could end up paying hundreds of dollars or, if someone is severely hurt, upwards of $100,000* yourself.
What are Wyoming’s minimum car insurance requirements?
Bodily injury liability coverage at $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Property damage liability coverage worth $20,000, in case you hit someone else’s car or property.
Keep in mind liability coverage is just the minimum requirement in Wyoming, and you can always choose to increase your coverage amounts or include optional, additional coverage.
Wyoming drivers aren’t required to have medical payments coverage (MedPay), for example. But if someone hits your vehicle and splits from the scene, and you don’t have this type of coverage, you may get stuck paying for any medical bills out of your own pocket.
What are average Wyoming car insurance rates?
Auto insurance rates vary based on several factors, like whether you live in the city or countryside, the type of vehicle you drive, the type of policy you choose, and your driving record. On average, car insurance in Wyoming costs around $110 per month or about $1,320 per year. But your auto insurance quote will be custom-tailored to you.
Does Wyoming have a new-car insurance grace period?
It’s illegal to drive without liability insurance in Wyoming. Check with your insurance company to find out if they have a grace period.
What are Wyoming's teen driving laws?
Wyoming has a several step graduate licensing program, and special considerations, before teen drivers can receive full driving privileges. Here's how it works.
Restricted Learner’s Permit: Teens 14-15 years old may be eligible to apply for a restricted learner’s permit (also known as a hardship permit) if certain conditions are met related to school, work, or “extreme inconvenience.” This type of teen permit holder is only allowed to drive within 50 miles of their home from 5 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Regular Learner’s Permit: Starting at age 15, teen drivers can apply for a regular learner’s permit. They must pass written and vision tests before receiving their permit, which is valid for one year from the issue date. But permitted teens can only drive if a licensed driver 18 years or older is in the car with them.
Intermediate Permit: For this type of permit, applicants have to be at least 16 years old, had a learner’s permit for at least 10 days, logged 50 hours of driving (10 hours at night), and have passed a vision and skills test (the skills test might be waived if the teen passed a state-approved driver education course). These permit holders cannot be on the road from 11 p.m. to 5 a.m. or drive passengers under 18 (unless they’re immediate family)—though these restrictions are waived if the teen is accompanied by a licensed driver at least 18 years old.
Full-Privilege Driver's License: In order to get a full-privilege driver's license, applicants must be at least 16½ years old, hold an intermediate permit for at least six months, and pass a state-approved driver education course. Drivers older than 17 are automatically eligible to apply for this unrestricted license regardless if they've had a permit.
Wyoming driving statistics
Wyoming’s vast wilderness beckons—from Yellowstone’s rugged beauty, to the changing colors of Flaming Gorge National Recreation Area, to the state’s unique towns. While Wyoming is certainly less crowded than most, it still has its fair share of fender benders.
As a state, Wyoming is near the top of the leaderboard (ranking in at no. 4) for the most drunk driving accidents in the country. Wyoming also has more than its share of distracted driving accidents (ranking at no. 12) in the U.S. So drivers in Wyoming—and frankly, everywhere—are better off checking their texts once they’re safe and parked.
AAA Auto Insurance discounts for Wyoming
In addition to the AAA discounts available to all drivers, Wyoming residents can save 10% for defensive drivers.
Chat with an insurance agent to learn how you can maximize your savings on auto insurance. And remember, speak to your agent any time you have a change in your life. Whether you move or get a new car, your agent is happy to crunch the numbers and save you money.
Find an agent who knows Wyoming auto insurance
Experienced AAA insurance agents can help you find the right auto insurance for your needs. Visit your local Wyoming AAA office to speak to an insurance agent in person, call (877) 323-4222, or request a quote online to get started.