Can new drivers get a permit? Are behind-the-wheel driving tests being offered?
Yes, Utah is offering Learner Permits to those at least 15 years of age. You must fill out the application online, then schedule an in-person visit at the DMV. There, you will provide proof of identity, social security, and Utah residency; take a photo; pass a knowledge test and a vision test; get a parent or legal guardian signature for financial responsibility if younger than 18; and submit a fee.
Behind-the-wheel Driving Skills Tests can be scheduled through the DMV, the driver education class at your high school, or third-party road testers.
How can I transfer the ownership/title of my car, RV, or boat?
The seller needs to provide the buyer with the original certificate of title or a completed Application for Duplicate Utah Title, which can be found online or at your local AAA branch. The buyer must complete the Application for Utah Title form, also online or at your local AAA branch. At least one owner whose name was on the title before transfer must sign the application. Fees may apply, and safety or emissions inspections may be required.
How do I change my name or gender or update my address on my ID or license?
For a name change, you must fill out the driver’s license application form online first. Then, schedule an in-person appointment at the DMV and bring the application with you. You will need to take a photo, pass a vision test, and submit a nonrefundable fee. You will also need to provide legal documentation authorizing your name change, such as a certified state marriage certificate, divorce decree, adoption, citizenship, guardianship, or court documents indicating a name change.
If your address has also changed, you will need to provide two residency documents. You can update your address online, at a DMV office, or by calling (801) 297-7780. Utah law requires you notify the DMV within 10 days of changing your address.
The process for changing or removing gender on a Utah driver’s license or identification card is being debated in court. Currently, the applicant must submit another government document with the new gender, such as a passport or birth certificate. A Utah birth certificate can be amended with a court order.
Do I still need a smog test?
Yes, emissions inspections have not changed. They are mandated in five counties—Salt Lake, Davis, Utah, Weber, and Cache—although requirements vary by county as well as your vehicle’s age and model. You can check the testing schedule for your vehicle online. Some also require safety inspections, including salvage vehicles, first-time street legal ATVs, and commercial vehicles. For a smog check, find a nearby AAA Approved Auto Repair facility that offers emissions inspection.
If I cannot complete my transaction at AAA or online, can I walk into any DMV office, or do I need to make an appointment?
Most DMV offices are open for appointments, and many take walk-in customers. You can see the availability by location here.