Alaska Car Insurance Requirements, Rates, and Quotes
Ready to drive across the Last Frontier? Learn more about Alaska's auto liability requirements.
Adventure beckons in Alaska—they don’t call it the Last Frontier for nothing—so it’s important to have wheels available for your epic explorations. Of course, you want to stay safe and legal, so here are some basic guidelines regarding Alaska’s insurance laws and how much coverage will cost you.
What are average Alaska car insurance rates?
In Alaska, the average car insurance rate is $134 per month, or $1,605 per year. Of course, your car insurance quote will depend on factors such as which policy you choose and its deductible, as well as your driving record and what kind of car you drive.
What are Alaska car insurance laws?
In most of Alaska, driving without car insurance is illegal. If you can’t prove that you have auto liability insurance, your driver’s license could be suspended.
In certain islands, towns, and villages in Alaska—remote spots where there isn’t much traffic—residents aren’t required to register vehicles or buy auto insurance. However, even in these spots, drivers who have had violations within the last five years must get liability coverage.
What are Alaska minimum car insurance requirements?
To drive in Alaska, the following minimum car insurance coverage is required:
Bodily Injury Liability coverage (for injuries you cause to other people)
$50,000 of coverage for the death or injury of any individual
$100,000 total coverage for the death or injury of two or more people in a single accident
Property Damage Liability coverage (for damage to someone else’s property)
$25,000 of coverage for damage if you hit someone else’s car or property
Is there a new-car insurance grace period in Alaska?
No. You need to buy car insurance before you drive your new vehicle off the lot.
My teenager just got a learner’s permit. Do we need to get additional auto insurance?
Congratulations on navigating this milestone together! And no, you don’t need to buy additional auto insurance because when your teenager drives your vehicle with a learner’s permit, he or she will be covered by your existing car insurance.
How old do you have to be to get an Alaska driver’s license?
At age 14, you can get an instruction permit. At 16, you can get a provisional license.
How can my teenager get an Alaska driver’s license?
To get an instruction permit in Alaska, youngsters must pass a written test and a vision screening. After having a learner’s permit for at least six months, they can get a provisional license, which carries certain restrictions, like not carrying passengers younger than 21 (except siblings), and not driving between 1 and 5 a.m. They also need to take a road test and pass another vision screening. After driving for six months with a provisional license, if they’ve had no moving violations, they can apply for a non-restricted driver’s license.
Need car insurance in Alaska?