Drivers in Arizona spend plenty of time behind the wheel. (The average roundtrip commute takes nearly an hour.) And when the weekend arrives, many hit the road again, exploring the state’s legendary natural beauty—from wondrous deserts and canyons to the white sand beaches of Lake Havasu State Park.
Car insurance in Arizona is essential for protecting your vehicle, and yourself. As you shop for auto insurance, take into consideration Arizona’s minimum coverage requirements, insurance laws, and average rates—and be sure to compare quotes before choosing an insurance provider.
What are Arizona’s car insurance laws?
If you drive in Arizona, make sure you’re covered. You must have auto liability insurance for any vehicle you drive—regardless of whether it’s a car, a moped, or a golf cart. If you can’t show proof of coverage, you could face suspension of your driver’s license and vehicle registration.
When did car insurance become mandatory in Arizona?
Auto coverage has been required since 1986.
Is Arizona a no-fault car insurance state?
No, Arizona is nota no-fault state. This means that the driver at fault must use his or her insurance to pay for the other driver’s damages. The police and the involved insurance companies use evidence to determine who’s at fault. But sometimes, the blame isn’t so clear-cut.
If fault is shared, so are the damages. So if you’re involved in a crash and it’s determined that you were 30 percent at fault, and the other driver was 70 percent at fault, you can collect 70 percent of the cost for your damages.
What is considered full-coverage auto insurance in Arizona?
In Arizona, a full-coverage auto policy provides at least the state’s minimum for liability coverage (both bodily injury and property damage), as well as collision and comprehensive coverage.
What are Arizona’s minimum car insurance requirements?
Every state has its own auto insurance coverage requirements. In Arizona, drivers are required to carry at least the following:
Bodily injury liability coverage at $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
These are just the minimum requirements in Arizona. You can always choose to increase your coverage amounts or include optional coverage such as MedPay—medical payment coverage for when you, another driver listed on your policy, or passengers are injured in an accident.
Know, too, that insurance companies notify the Arizona MVD of all new car insurance policies, as well as cancellations and non-renewals. If you’d like to temporarily suspend your coverage until a vehicle is ready to get back on the road again, you can request a Vehicle De-Insured Certificate.
What are average Arizona car insurance rates?
On average, car insurance in Arizona costs $111 per month or $1,342 per year. But your auto insurance quote will be custom-tailored to you. It will depend on which type of policy you choose, its deductible, and what kind of vehicle you drive, as well as your driving record.
Is there a new-car insurance grace period in Arizona?
No. In Arizona, you must have auto insurance coverage before you drive any vehicle, even a brand-new one. Also, proof of insurance is required at time of registration in Arizona.
Is there a safety glass non-deductible option for Arizona drivers?
If you’re an insured driver in Arizona with comprehensive coverage, you may be eligible for the safety glass non-deductible option, which has a zero dollar deductible if you need to repair or replace safety glass, plastic, or other materials on your car. So if your windshield, window, or other glass on your vehicle gets damaged and needs replacing, you’re covered for the full amount.
Does Arizona have a teen driver graduated licensing program?
Getting your driver’s license is exciting, and if you live in Arizona, all teen drivers (ages 16-18) must partake in the graduated licensing program. After passing written and vision tests, your teen will be issued a graduated driver license (Class G) permit that must be maintained for at least six months. During this time, Arizona requires parents or guardians supervise their teens during a set amount of driving hours. Or, young drivers can complete a high school driver education course or an authorized third-party driver license driver education program. There are still a few restrictions after your teen receives their graduated driver license, but they’re one step closer to driving independently.
Arizona driving statistics
Arizona’s charms—its natural beauty, sunny climate, low cost of living—have made it a popular place to live, with more than 2 million people relocating to the Grand Canyon State since 2000. It’s no surprise then that Arizona roads have seen a 34-percent increase in traffic (per vehicle mile traveled) in that time.
And with crowded highways and byways, accidents happen. Arizona drivers also travel some rough terrain, with 44 percent of the state’s roads in poor or mediocre condition, upping the chance of accidents. According to the Arizona Department of Transportation, there were 91,913 crashes that resulted in property damage in 2019, with 36,926 leading to injuries and 911 fatal crashes.
AAA Car Insurance discounts for Arizona residents
In addition to the AAA discounts available to all drivers, Arizona residents can save with these Auto Insurance discounts:
Up to 7.8% discount when you pay your annual insurance premium in full.
Up to 20% discount for SMARTtrek users (based on program results).
Up to 5% discount for eValue (paperless billing) users.
How to find an agent who knows Arizona auto insurance
Chat with an insurance agent to learn how you can maximize your savings on auto insurance—and remember, speak to your agent any time you have a change in your life. Whether you move or get a new car, your agent is happy to crunch the numbers and save you money. See AAA Arizona locations to get started.